United States info

United States of America (USA) is vast. It features 19,924 km of coastline and in comparison is about half the size of Russia; it is the third or fourth largest country by total area, and third largest by land area and by population.The United States of America is a federal constitutional republic comprising fifty states and a federal district. The Climate is mostly temperate, but you will find tropical conditions in Hawaii and Florida, Arctic conditions in Alaska, and heat in the semiarid great plains west of the Mississippi River, and arid regions in the Great Basin of the southwest. The country has a vast central plain, mountains in west, hills and low mountains in east; rugged mountains and broad river valleys in Alaska; and rugged, volcanic topography on the island of Hawaii.


Regions in United States

Alabama is bordered by Tennessee to the north, Georgia to the east, Florida and the Gulf of Mexico to the south, and Mississippi to the west. Alabama ... READ MORE

The capital and largest city is Phoenix. The second largest city is Tucson, followed by the four Phoenix metropolitan area cities of Mesa, Glendale, C... READ MORE

Colorado may also be considered to be part of the Western and Southwestern regions of the United States. Colorado entered statehood in 1876 and was ni... READ MORE

They begin at the southeastern tip of the Florida peninsula, about 15 miles (24 km) south of Miami, and extend in a gentle arc south-southwest and the... READ MORE

It is bounded on the northeast, north and northwest by the Gulf Coast of the United States, on the southwest and south by Mexico, and on the southeast... READ MORE

The State of Idaho is a state in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States of America. The state's largest city and capital is Boise. Resident... READ MORE

Indiana was the 19th U.S. state admitted into the union. It is located in the midwestern region of the United States of America, and its capital and l... READ MORE

It is the 29th state of the United States, having joined the Union on December 28, 1846. The state is named for the Ioway people, a Siouan tribe of Na... READ MORE

It is named after the Kansas River which flows through it, which in turn was named after the Kansa tribe, who inhabited the area. The tribe's name is ... READ MORE

Stretching northeast into the Atlantic Ocean, Long Island contains four counties, two of which (Queens and Kings) are boroughs (Queens and Brooklyn) o... READ MORE

The Mid-Atlantic states, also called middle Atlantic states or simply the mid Atlantic, form a region of the United States generally located between N... READ MORE

It comprises 114 counties and one independent city. Missouri's capital is Jefferson City. The four largest urban areas are, in descending order, St. L... READ MORE

The western third of the state contains numerous mountain ranges; other 'island' ranges are found in the central third of the state, for a total of 77... READ MORE

Nebraska is a state on the Great Plains of the Midwestern United States.... READ MORE

Nevada is a state located in the western region of the United States of America. The capital is Carson City and the largest city is Las Vegas.... READ MORE

New England is located in the northeastern corner of the United States and is a region consisting of the modern states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermon... READ MORE

North Dakota is the 19th largest state by area in the U.S.; it is the 3rd least populous, with just over 646,844 residents as of 2009. North Dakota wa... READ MORE

The Northern Mariana Islands, officially the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), is a commonwealth in political union with the United... READ MORE

The state's name is derived from the Choctaw words okla and humma, meaning "red people", and is known informally by its nickname, The Sooner State. Fo... READ MORE

Pennsylvania known as the keystone state is a state located in the Northeastern and Middle Atlantic regions of the United States.... READ MORE

Puerto Rico is composed of an archipelago that includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller islands and keys, the largest of which ... READ MORE

Being an arm of the Pacific Ocean, connected to the rest of the Pacific by the Strait of Juan de Fuca, Puget Sound is located in the Pacific Northwest... READ MORE

Southwestern could be defined as for the most part west of the Mississippi River or the states south and the area also contains large cities and metro... READ MORE

Tennessee borders eight other states: Kentucky and Virginia to the north; North Carolina to the east; Georgia, Alabama and Mississippi on the south; A... READ MORE

The Thousand Islands is the name of an archipelago of islands that straddle the Canada-U.S. border in the Saint Lawrence River as it emerges from t... READ MORE

The state ranks 45th by total area and 43rd by land area at 9,250 square miles (24,000 km2). It has a population of 608,827, ranking 49th of all fifty... READ MORE

West Virginia is a U.S. state located in the Appalachian region of the Southern United States.... READ MORE

The Western United States-commonly referred to as the American West or simply the West-traditionally refers to the region comprising the westernmost s... READ MORE

Wyoming is a state in the mountain region of the Western United States.... READ MORE

Do you know of a region in United States that is not listed here? Tell us about it!

Thank you for visiting United States, North America

Featured Businesses