Uruguay info

It is home to 3.46 million people,[2] of whom 1.7 million live in the capital Montevideo and its metropolitan area.

Uraguay is bordered by Brazil to the north, by Argentina across the bank of both the Uruguay River to the west and the estuary of Río de la Plata to the southwest, and the South Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. Its surface is 176.214 km² being by its territorial extension the second smallest country in South America, larger only than Suriname and the French overseas department of French Guiana.

Montevideo was founded by the Spanish in the early 18th century as a military stronghold. Uruguay won its independence in 1825-1828 following a three-way struggle between Spain, Argentina and Brazil. It is a constitutional democracy, where the president fulfills the roles of both head of state and head of government.

The economy is largely based on agriculture (making up 10% of GDP and the most substantial export) and the state sector. Uruguay's economy is on the whole more stable than in its surrounding states, and it maintains a solid reputation with investors.


Regions in Uruguay

The Maldonado Department (Spanish: Departamento de Maldonado), with an area of 4,793 km² (1,851 square miles) and 140,192 inhabitants, is located... READ MORE

Do you know of a region in Uruguay that is not listed here? Tell us about it!

Thank you for visiting Uruguay, South America

Featured Businesses