Greece info

Greece is a holidaymakers paradise. The mainland is a mountainous peninsula jutting into the Mediterranean Sea spilling into an archipelago of about 2,000 islands. Greece has over 13,000 kilometres of coastline which means that there is a paradise destination for every traveller – there are long white sandy beaches with turquoise crystal waters or small beaches surrounded by huge cliffs or pine and palm tree forests. Some islands buzz with constant nightlife, while others offer a peaceful retreat from the world. Greeks are fierce guardians of tradition, their history goes back forever and their folklore is legendary! Every corner of this land is bursting with ancient ruins of a great civilisation. But this legacy does not mean that Greeks don't know how to have fun. Hot sun and limpid seas conspire to make Greece a perfect place to relax. Whether you're supping in a beachside taverna, sipping coffee in a shady plateia or disco-dancing till dawn, chances are the gods already have you ensnared.

Regions in Greece

Classical Athens was a powerful city-state. A centre for the arts, learning and philosophy, home of Plato's Academy and Aristotle's Lyceum, Athens was... READ MORE

Located in the south of the country, Attica covers about 3,808 square kilometers. In addition to Athens, it contains within its area the cities of Pei... READ MORE

Its territory is divided into the peripheries of Central Greece, Attica, and one prefecture of West Greece. Although Attica is part of the geographica... READ MORE

Central Macedonia is one of the thirteen regions of Greece, consisting of the central part of the geographical and historical region of Macedonia.... READ MORE

Corinthia is located in the north-eastern part of the Peloponnese peninsula, it is a prefecture of Greece and is the area around the city of Corinth.... READ MORE

Crete was the center of the Minoan civilization (ca. 2600-1400 BC), the oldest Greek civilization. Today Crete is one of the thirteen peripheries of ... READ MORE

They are one of the island groups which constitute the Aegean archipelago. The name refers to the islands around the sacred island of Delos. The Cycla... READ MORE

They have a rich history, and many of even the smallest inhabited islands boast dozens of Byzantine churches and medieval castles. The modern prefect... READ MORE

The province has an area of about 9,200 km² (3,551 square miles). It is part of the wider historical region of Epirus, which overlaps modern Alba... READ MORE

They are traditionally called "Eptanisa", i.e. "the Seven Islands", but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones. ... READ MORE

Its territory covers most of the region of ancient Macedon and most of the Kingdom of Macedon, famously ruled by Alexander the Great, who is the most ... READ MORE

The modern prefecture was created in 1947 out of the Larissa prefecture. About 70% of the population live in the Greater Volos area which is the secon... READ MORE

Mani is the central peninsula of the three which extend southwards from the Peloponnese in southern Greece. To the east is the Laconian Gulf, to the w... READ MORE

Milos is one of the regional units of Greece, and is part of the region of South Aegean, covering the islands of Kimolos, Milos, Serifos, Sifnos and s... READ MORE

North Aegean is one of the thirteen peripheries of Greece. It consists of the prefectures of Chios, Lesbos and Samos.... READ MORE

A large peninsula and region in southern Greece, forming the part of the country south of the Gulf of Corinth, the Peloponnese or Peloponnesus peninsu... READ MORE

Rhodes is a Greek island approximately 18 kilometres (11 mi) southwest of Turkey in eastern Aegean Sea. It is the largest of the Dodecanese islands in... READ MORE

It consists of the Cyclades and Dodecanese islands in the South Aegean Sea. The capital of the periphery is situated in Ermoupoli, Syros island while ... READ MORE

It consists of 24 islands, of which five are inhabited: Alonnisos, Skiathos, Skopelos, Peristera and Skyros. Administratively, the islands are split ... READ MORE

The capital of the periphery and traditional geographical region (and until 1987 official) is Larissa. Together with the regions of Macedonia and Thra... READ MORE

West Greece is one of the thirteen regions of Greece. It comprises the western part of continental Greece and the northwestern part of the Peloponnese... READ MORE

Do you know of a region in Greece that is not listed here? Tell us about it!

Thank you for visiting Greece, Europe

Featured Businesses