Langkawi info

The islands are a part of the state of Kedah, which is adjacent to the Thai border. On July 15, 2008, Sultan Abdul Halim of Kedah had consented to the change of name to Langkawi Permata Kedah in conjunction with his Golden Jubilee Celebration.

By far the largest of the islands is the eponymous Pulau Langkawi with a population of some 45,000, the only other inhabited island being nearby Pulau Tuba. Langkawi is also an administrative district with the town of Kuah as the capital and largest town. Langkawi is a duty-free island.

Langkawi lies north of the Strait of Malacca in the southern Andaman Sea near the border between Malaysia and Thailand. A few kilometres to the north lies the neighbouring Thai island of Ko Tarutao. The island group's main town, on the main island, is Kuah.

Langkawi's highest point is Gunung Raya, rising to 890 m above sea level in the main island's central-eastern area.

The archipelago consists of 99 islands with a total land area of 528 km2 (204 sq mi).


Bays in Langkawi, Malaysia

Pantai Tengah, about 500 metres south of Pantai Cenang is a great place if you're looking for somewhere to simply chill out. Accommodation consists of low key chalets with more upscale resorts recently built. Not ideal swimming conditions due to its position on the bay, but picturesque and quiet....

Do you know of a bay in Langkawi that is not listed here? Tell us about it!

Thank you for visiting Langkawi, Malaysia

Featured Businesses