Fukui info

The capital is the city of Fukui.

Fukui originally consisted of the old provinces of Wakasa and Echizen, before the prefecture was formed in 1871.

During the Edo period, the daimyo of the region was surnamed Matsudaira, and was a descendant of Tokugawa Ieyasu.

The province faces the Sea of Japan, and has a western part (formerly Wakasa) which is a narrow plain between the mountains and the sea, and a larger eastern part (formerly Echizen) with wider plains including the capital and most of the population. The mountain side of the eastern part has much snow in winter.


Bays in Fukui, Japan

We currently do not have any bays listed for Fukui, do you know of one?

Thank you for visiting Fukui, Japan

Featured Businesses