South Africa info

South Africa occupies the southern tip of Africa, its long coastline stretching more than 2,500 kilometres from the desert border with Namibia on the Atlantic coast southwards around the tip of Africa and then north to the border with subtropical Mozambique on the Indian Ocean. South Africa is a varied country and has the third-highest level of biodiversity in the world. In fact, it is the only country to contain an entire floral kingdom of its own – the fynbos of the Western Cape has more plant species than the whole British Isles or New Zealand. Tourists also flock to Cape of Good Hope every year to witness the beautiful scenery at the edge of Africa and the zone where Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet. South Africa is more than a cultural melting pot, it's a big warm potjie of culture, full of different ingredients and yummy surprises, developing its rich flavour over centuries. Get a taste of cultural alphabet soup from archaeology to Zulu. With 11 official languages and a huge gap between rich and poor, South Africa has one of the most diverse populations in the world and the new freedoms of post-apartheid South Africa have brought new life to its people. South African food celebrates our rich heritage and natural bounty of seafood, meat, game and plants, while South African wine has earned rave reviews internationally for 300 years. There is a strong cultural tradition, from ancient san rock art in caves and mountains around the country, to music pulsing through the people’s vein: from early missionary hymns and jazz to kwela, kwaito, mbaqanga and bubblegum pop, South African musicians have always given international trends an unmistakable flavour of their own.

Regions in South Africa

Its capital is Bhisho. It was formed in 1994 out of the "independent" homelands of Transkei and Ciskei, as well as the eastern portion of the Cape Pro... READ MORE

The Free State is a province of South Africa. The name is a popular contraction of the previous name the Orange Free State. Its capital is Bloemfontei... READ MORE

Situated in the heart of the Highveld, Gauteng is the smallest province in South Africa, with only 1.4% of the land area, but it is highly urbanised a... READ MORE

In the 1830s the northern part was the kingdom of Zululand and southern part was briefly a Boer republic called Natalia. In the 1840s the latter becam... READ MORE

The province was formed from the northern region of the Transvaal province in 1994, and initially named Northern Transvaal. The following year, it was... READ MORE

Mpumalanga lies in eastern South Africa, north of KwaZulu-Natal and bordering Swaziland and Mozambique. It constitutes 6.5% of South Africa's land are... READ MORE

North West was created after the end of Apartheid in 1994, and includes parts of the former Transvaal province and Cape Province, as well as most of t... READ MORE

It includes the Kalahari Gemsbok National Park, which is part of a trans-frontier park with Botswana. It also includes the Augrabies Falls and the dia... READ MORE

The capital is Cape Town. Prior to 1994, the region that now forms the Western Cape was part of the huge and now defunct Cape Province. Prior to the f... READ MORE

Do you know of a region in South Africa that is not listed here? Tell us about it!

Thank you for visiting South Africa, Africa

Featured Businesses